Opening Hours

Abbey Field Medical Centre

Abbey Field Medical Centre is currently open.

Monday08:00-18:30
Tuesday08:00-18:30
Wednesday08:00-18:30
Thursday08:00-18:30
Friday08:00-18:30
SaturdaySome clinics - please call for details.
SundayClosed

Elmstead Market Surgery

Elmstead Market Surgery is currently closed.

Monday08:00-15:00
Tuesday14:00-18:30
Wednesday08:00-15:00
Thursday14:00-18:30
Friday08:00-15:00
SaturdayClosed
SundayClosed

Hawthorn Surgery

Hawthorn Surgery is currently open.

Monday08:00-18:30
Tuesday08:00-18:30
Wednesday08:00-18:30
Thursday08:00-18:30
Friday08:00-18:30
SaturdayClosed
SundayClosed

Practice Training Days

The surgery will be closed from 12:30 to 18:30 on the below dates for staff training (any appointments booked into the evening clinic will continue as normal) this is in line with all practices in North East Essex.

Please ensure you allow enough time to request and collect prescriptions.

For advice on minor illness you can ask your local pharmacist or see the self help section on this website. NHS 111 service remains available during this time.

Month Date
May Thursday 18th May
June Wednesday 28th June
July Tuesday 25th July
August Tuesday 22nd August
September Wednesday 27th September
October Thursday 19th October
November Wednesday 29th November
January Tuesday 30th January
February Thursday 22nd February
March Wednesday 27th March

Out Of Hours

NHS 111

Call 111 from any landline/mobile.

It is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

NHS 111 service will offer advice or will transfer you to the out of hours GP service if they feel you need to be seen.

Accident & Emergency

A&E is located in Colchester General Hospital, Turner Road, CO5 5JL.

You should only go straight to A&E for major illnesses or trauma.

Call 999 in an emergency
You should only call 999 for life threatening emergencies 
(for example – chest pain, unusual shortness of breath or suspected stroke)